Pretreatment and aging of zirconia: Effect on different material properties

Pretreatment and aging of zirconia: Effect on different material properties

508
0
Zirkonoxid

Zirconia: What influence do different air-abrasion and aging methods have on the flexural strength and phase structure of first- and second-generation zirconia? This question was examined in detail in an investigation conducted by LMU Munich.

Metal-free prosthetic restorations have become an essential part of modern treatment concepts. The rapid development of different zirconia ceramics requires in-depth knowledge of their material properties and processing procedures. The behavior of the phase structure when subjected to stress plays an important role in treating a zirconia surface because this can trigger a transformation from the tetragonal to monoclinic phase. This process is associated with a volumetric expansion of 3% to 5% (Fig. 1).

Zirkonoxid

Fig. 1 Temperature-dependent crystal phases of zirconia. Volume increase of 3-5% during transition from the tetragonal to the monoclinic phase. Source: Stawarczyk B, Keul C, Eichberger M, Figge D, Edelhoff D, Lümkemann N: Werkstoffkunde-Update: Zirkonoxid und seine Generationen – von verblendet bis monolithisch. Quintessenz Zahntechnik 2016, 42(6):740-765.

The question of which effects are induced by this behavior is a matter of controversy in the literature. On the one hand, crack propagation is supposed to be inhibited and the resulting compression layer is supposed to lead to increased strength. On the other hand, weakening effects due to the formation of microcracks have been described. Surface pretreatment by air-abrasion, performed prior to veneering or during cementation, could potentially cause a phase transformation. The reason why aging plays a crucial role in this process is shown in the in vitro investigation by LMU Munich summarized below.

Kelch M, Schulz J, Edelhoff D, Sener B, Stawarczyk B. Impact of different pretreatments and aging procedures on the flexural strength and phase structure of zirconia ceramics. Dent Mater 2019;35(10):1439-1449

Objective

The aim of the investigation was to analyze the impact of different air-abrasion and aging methods on the flexural strength of 3Y-TZP0.25 and investigate the effect of the possible formation of a monoclinic phase. Furthermore, the effect of air-particle size and applied pressure on the monoclinic phase formation in 3Y-TZP0.25 and 3Y-TZP0.05 were examined.

Materials and methods

Investigation of flexural strength

A total of 180 specimens of material group 3Y-TZP0.25 (Ceramill ZI, Amann Girrbach, Koblach, Austria) were fabricated in order to perform a three-point flexural strength test. In the first step, the specimens were randomly divided into four pretreatment groups (n=45):

  1. Air-abrasion with 50 µm alumina powder (Hasenfratz Sandstrahltechnik, Assling, Germany) (Fig. 2).
  2. Air-abrasion with 105 µm alumina powder (Hasenfratz Sandstrahltechnik).
  3. Air-abrasion with 30 µm silica-coated alumina powder (Rocatec Soft, 3M, Seefeld, Germany).
  4. No pretreatment
Zirkonoxid

Fig. 2 Device used to ensure constant conditions during air-abrasion at a fixed angle of 45 degrees and a consistent nozzle distance of 10 mm.

In the second step, the pretreated groups were divided into three subgroups (n=15) according to the different aging methods:
  1. Aging in an autoclave (Vacuklav 31-B, Melag, Berlin, Germany)
  2. Aging in a chewing simulator (CS-4, SD Mechatronik, Feldkirchen-Westerham, Germany)
  3. No aging

Analysis of crystalline structures

For analysis of the crystalline phase structure, additional specimens were fabricated from 3Y-TZP0.25 (n=12) and 3Y-TZP0.05 (Ceramill Zolid, Amann Girrbach, n=8). Pretreatment was carried out according to the methods already described and aging was performed in the autoclave. To investigate the potential effect of the air-abrading pressure, air-abrasion with 50 µm and 105 µm alumina powder particles was carried out at various air-abrading pressure parameters (0.05, 0.25 and 0.4 MPa). The fractured specimens from the three-point flexural test were also analyzed to show possible changes in the phase structure of 3Y-TZP0.25 after 5 years of dry storage at room temperature (23°C). Evidence of phase transformation was verified using Raman spectroscopy (inVia Qontor, Renishaw plc, Wotton-under-Edge, UK).

Results

Mechanical pretreatment by air-abrasion increased the flexural strength of non-aged 3Y-TZP0.25 with increasing particle size. Aging of specimens in the autoclave and chewing simulator air-abraded with 50 µm and 105 µm alumina powder had a greater effect on their flexural strength compared to prior air-abrasion using 30 µm silica-coated alumina powder. A larger alumina particle size and increasing blasting pressure increased the monoclinic phase fraction. All pretreatment groups showed a higher monoclinic phase fraction after autoclave aging and/or aging for 5 years at room temperature, with the exception of the specimens air-abraded with 30 µm silica-coated alumina powder.

Zirkonoxid

Results

Conclusion

Air-abrasion of a zirconia surface with 30 µm silica-coated alumina powder can be recommended as a pretreatment method regardless of whether 3Y-TZP0.25 or 3Y-TZP0.05 is used. For pretreatment using alumina oxide, the air-abrading pressure should be kept as low as possible.

Vorbehandlung und Alterung von Zirkonoxid: Einfluss auf verschiedene Materialeigenschaften

Vorbehandlung und Alterung von Zirkonoxid: Einfluss auf verschiedene Materialeigenschaften

263
0
Zirkonoxid

Welchen Einfluss haben verschiedene Korundstrahl- und Alterungsmethoden auf Biegefestigkeit und Phasenzusammensetzung von Zirkonoxid der 1. und 2. Generation? Im Rahmen einer Studie an der LMU München konnte diese Fragestellung näher beleuchtet werden.

Matthias Kelch, München

Metallfreie prothetische Versorgungen sind zu einem essenziellen Bestandteil moderner Behandlungskonzepte geworden. Die rapide Entwicklung verschiedener Zirkonoxide erfordert fundierte Kenntnisse über die Materialeigenschaften und deren Verarbeitungsprozesse.

Zirkonoxid liegt es in drei verschiedenen Phasen vor. Der Anteil der Phasen bestimmt jeweils die Eigenschaften des Materials. Bei der Bearbeitung einer Zirkonoxidoberfläche spielt das Verhalten der Phasenzusammensetzung bei Stresseinwirkung eine zentrale Rolle. Hierbei kann es zu einer Umwandlung von der tetragonalen in die monokline Phase kommen. Dieser Vorgang ist mit einer Volumenzunahme von 3-5% verbunden.

Verschiedene Phasen von Zirkonoxid:

  • monoklin
  • tetragonal
  • kubisch
Zirkonoxid

Temperaturabhängige Kristallphasen von Zirkonoxid. Volumenzunahme von 3-5% beim Übergang von der tetragonalen in die monokline Phase. [Stawarczyk B, Keul C, Eichberger M, Figge D, Edelhoff D, Lümkemann N: Werkstoffkunde-Update: Zirkonoxid und seine Generationen – von verblendet bis monolithisch. Quintessenz Zahntechnik 2016, 42(6):740-765].

Welche Effekte durch dieses Verhalten provoziert werden, wird in der Literatur kontrovers diskutiert. Einerseits soll Risswachstum unterbunden werden und die entstehende Kompressionsschicht zu einer Festigkeitssteigerung führen. Andererseits wurden aber auch festigkeitsmindernde Effekte durch entstehende Mikrorisse beschrieben.

Die Vorbehandlung der Oberfläche durch Korundstrahlen …

  • beispielsweise vor dem Verblenden oder
  • im Rahmen der Befestigung

… kann eine potenzielle Ursache für eine Phasenumwandlung darstellen. Warum hier vor allem die Alterung eine tragende Rolle spielt, verdeutlicht die nachfolgend zusammengefasste In-vitro Studie der LMU München.

Kelch M, Schulz J, Edelhoff D, Sener B, Stawarczyk B. Impact of different pretreatments and aging procedures on the flexural strength and phase structure of zirconia ceramics. Dent Mater 2019;35(10):1439-1449

Ziel der Untersuchung

Ziel der Untersuchung war es, den Einfluss verschiedener Korundstrahl- und Alterungsmethoden auf die Biegefestigkeit von 3Y-TZP0.25 zu analysieren und den Effekt einer möglicherweise entstandenen monoklinen Phase zu untersuchen. Des Weiteren wurde der Einfluss von Korngröße und appliziertem Druck auf die Entstehung monokliner Phasen bei 3Y-TZP0.25 und 3Y-TZP0.05 untersucht.

Material und Methoden

Untersuchung der Biegefestigkeit

Für den 3-Punkt-Biegeversuch wurden insgesamt 180 Prüfkörper der Materialgruppe 3Y-TZP0.25 (Ceramill Zi, AmannGirrbach, Österreich) hergestellt. Diese wurden im ersten Schritt nach dem Zufallsprinzip in vier Vorbehandlungsgruppen (n=45) unterteilt:

  1. Korundstrahlen mit 50 µm Aluminiumoxid-Pulver (Hasenfratz, Deutschland)
  2. Korundstrahlen mit 105 µm Aluminiumoxid-Pulver (Hasenfratz)
  3. Korundstrahlen mit 30 µm SiO2-beschichtetem Aluminiumoxid-Pulver (Rocatec soft powder, 3M, Deutschland)
  4. Keine Vorbehandlung
Zirkonoxid

Vorrichtung zur Sicherung konstanter Bedingungen während des Korundstrahlens mit einem festen Winkel von 45° und einem gleichbleibenden Abstand der Düse von 10 mm.

Analyse kristalliner Strukturen

Zur Analyse der kristallinen Phasenstruktur wurden weitere Prüfkörper aus 3Y-TZP0.25 (Ceramill Zi, AmannGirrbach, n=12) und 3Y-TZP0.05 (Ceramill Zolid, Amann Girrbach, n=8) hergestellt. Diese wurden entsprechend den bereits beschriebenen Methoden vorbehandelt und im Autoklaven gealtert. Um einen etwaigen Einfluss des Abstrahldrucks zu untersuchen, erfolgte das Korundstrahlen mit 50 µm und 105 µm Aluminiumoxidpulver mit verschiedenen Strahldruckparametern von 0.05, 0.25 und 0.4 MPa.Um mögliche Veränderungen der Phasenstruktur von 3Y-TZP0.25 nach einer 5-jährigen Trockenlagerung bei Raumtemperatur (23°C) zu zeigen, wurden auch die Bruchstücke der Prüfkörper aus dem 3-Punkt-Biegeversuch analysiert. Der Nachweis stattgefundener Phasenumwandlung erfolgte mit Hilfe eines Raman-Spektroskops (inVia Qontor, Renishaw plc, UK).

Ergebnisse

Die mechanische Vorbehandlung durch Korundstrahlen erhöhte die Biegefestigkeit von nicht-gealtertem 3Y-TZP0.25 mit steigender Korngröße. Die Alterung von Prüfkörpern im Autoklaven und im Kausimulator, welche mit 50 und 105 µm Aluminiumoxid-Pulver korundgestrahlt wurden, hatte mehr Einfluss auf ihre Biegefestigkeit als bei jenen, die zuvor mit 30 µm SiO2-beschichtetem Aluminiumoxid-Pulver korundgestrahlt wurden. Größere Korundpartikel und steigender Strahldruck erhöhten den monoklinen Phasenanteil. Alle Vorbehandlungsgruppen zeigten einen höheren monoklinen Phasenanteil nach Alterung im Autoklaven und/oder 5-jähriger Alterung bei Raumtemperatur. Ausnahme sind mit 30 µm SiO2-beschichtetem Aluminiumoxid-Pulver korundgestrahlten Prüfkörpern.

Grafische Darstellung der Ergebnisse

Vorbehandlung / Alterung Zirkonoxid: Schlussfolgerung

Das Korundstrahlen einer Zirkonoxid-Oberfläche mit 30 µm SiO2-beschichtetem Aluminiumoxid-Pulver kann als Vorbehandlungsmethode empfohlen werden. Dies ist unabhängig davon, ob es sich um 3Y-TZP0.25 oder 3Y-TZP0.05 handelt. Bei Vorbehandlung mittels Aluminiumoxid sollte grundsätzlich auf einen möglichst geringen Strahldruck geachtet werden.